Taking the plunge: First steps to becoming an RRCA certified running coach

I hope you all had a nice weekend! On Thursday, I decided it was about time for me to head back to NY, where almost all of my family lives, in order to make a quick visit home. Since I’ll be participating in the BAA 5k on Saturday and then want to attend the Boston Marathon the Monday after, I knew it was going to be difficult to fit in an Easter visit in between. I quickly hopped on the Pike after school and headed into the Albany area on this beautifully warm spring weekend. I had an amazing time and glad I decided to go!

I have some exciting news to share with all of my readers mid-week, but until then, I wanted to let you know about some other exciting news that’s in the works! In an effort to build upon my own training and coaching experiences, I have officially signed up for the Road Runners Club of America’s Coaching Certification Course!

Screen shot 2014-04-13 at 8.27.53 PM

 

The course will be at the end of June in Hyannis, MA (on the cape) and lasts about 16 hours over the course of two days.

Screen shot 2014-04-13 at 8.28.37 PM Screen shot 2014-04-13 at 8.28.57 PM

I’m thoroughly excited to take this course, because I’ve been thinking about doing it for the last two years. This is only the second time since deciding to be certified that the course has been in the Massachusetts area, so I knew to jump on the chance within the hour that the email was sent out. I think it even sold out that very evening!

For around $300, and the cost of insurance, I’m hoping that I will finally feeling confident enough to giving out running advice, in addition to taking on beginner runners as clients! I’m so excited to get this process started!

Have any of you become RRCA certified? Pros and Cons? Any exciting news from the weekend? 

2 thoughts on “Taking the plunge: First steps to becoming an RRCA certified running coach

  1. Wonderful Post. I really enjoyed reading it. A lot of times I
    find it difficult to find informative yet practical fitness information. You’ve made some really
    good points. I will make sure to bookmark your site and
    visit on a regular basis.
    Much Appreciated again for writing this helpful post.

Leave a comment