About that whole race thing this weekend…

Yep.  nope. Nada. Didn’t happen.

You read that right..I didn’t run the Black Cat 10 miler in Salem this weekend. And yes, it was that one I skipped a baby shower to go to?  😦 There was a bit of a registration snafu, i.e., I thought I had registered but when I realized I hadn’t been receiving any race day emails, I took a look through my bank statements and noticed that the transaction never went through. What a bummer!  I didn’t have the race fee in the budget for this week, so unfortunately, I decided that the whole thing was a bust and called it a day.

I did do 7 miles on the treadmill later that evening and while I would have loved to have gone the full 10 (and I honestly think I could have, because the run felt easy and amazing) I just didn’t have the time.  I rushed off the ol’ mill so that we could head to a family event.

I was excited to see that my pace (at 8:11 a mile average) felt good the entire time. I started at 7.0 and hiked up to 7.5 by mile 5, then moved onto 7.7 for mile 6, and then 8.0 for mile 7. Pretty sweet!

Image

I’m keeping my fingers crossed that my training will continue to progress, because I have every intention of someday, SOMEDAY beating Chris’s PR for the half (currently residing at 1 hour and 42 minutes).

Anyway, after attending a pretty sweet high school hockey game conference final, Chris and I headed into Davis Square to grab a few drinks. This weekend has been filled with family and errands, so it was nice to be able to have time for just the two of us to talk.

photo 4 photo 3 photo 2

With Chris in grad school, I’ve been trying my best to help out around the house with the cooking and cleaning, and that’s exactly what this weekend consisted of. As you could see in my lack of posting and exercising, it was a pretty hectic week at school, and the evenings were no better. Weekends are necessary for setting us up for success. We grocery shop to our heart’s content (or within our budget) and then use all of Sunday to prepare as much food as we can for the week ahead.

I’ve been successfully sticking to a low carb, low dairy diet and while it hasn’t really amounted to any weight loss, I have felt SOOO much better in terms of a sick belly and increased energy level.  Maybe someday this week, I’ll give you a sense of what I really eat in a day. You never know what to expect around here! It gets pretty wild.

I wish I had something more exciting to report, but maybe some of you readers do?I hope you all enjoyed your weekends!

One thought on “About that whole race thing this weekend…

Leave a Reply

