#keepingitreal

Today I read an incredible article posted by Runners World, addressing the recent blog post from Lauren Fleshman, professional runner, at Ask Lauren Fleshman.

ImageWhile I hadn’t read the original blog post before reading the article from RW, I have to admit that I was much more moved by her follow-up piece as compared to her first post. The article was written so that Lauren could compare two different photos of herself for her readers. The first photo is of Lauren walking the runway for the Oiselle show (running wear company) during fashion week; one in which she is tanned, toned, and strong. However, as much as those images could evoke jealousy (and for some, motivation) she does not consider it a true representation of herself. The other photo was one of her from a recent practice, in which her little pooch was left to do as it pleased. Take a look!

ImageImage

Now, obviously she is a beautiful woman who is blessed with an amazing physique, with or without a little belly. While her original article was short but sweet, Lauren shared her vulnerabilities with her readers so that woman know that what is displayed on the runway or in magazines, is not a true representation of the female body. Instead, we should be proud of the lumps, dumps, curves, bones, wrinkles, and stretchmarks that make each one of us real and unique.

Since going viral with that post, Lauren wrote a follow-up article to Runners World in order to further address the questions, concerns, and praises from her original article and what we are left with is something beautiful and I’m encouraging all of you readers to participate in whatever way you feel comfortable but I think is necessary for us to help change the way we look at beauty.

Image

If you really want to be able to submit the photo, you can actually post it here.

Britney Spears posted a similar photo, when she finished shooting a Candies Shoe ad several years ago. I was shocked by the difference in her body after being retouched. I can’t believe I spent most of my teen years comparing my body to hers and being so angry and negative with myself for never being strict or dedicated enough to look like she did, as much as I was obsessed with doing so.

Image

Amazing, right?

I guess this is the point in my time with you, where I share an unflattering photo with all of you, since I have challenged everyone else to keep it real.  Well, here goes nothing… Drum roll please….

A flattering picture of me with all my made up glory.

Image

What I actually wake up looking like every morning.

Image

I have blonde eyebrows and eyelashes. I draw them both on every day. I hate the wrinkles on my forehead, so I wear side swept bangs to keep them hidden. I grew up with the nickname “Dog face” throughout middle school, and started to wear makeup the minute my mom let me in 9th grade. I’ve never looked back. I can get upset with my looks and stay steer clear from swimming underwater in pools or oceans, because I don’t want my mascara to run off. I also hate being in the rain without an umbrella for fear of the same thing. I didn’t know how I would ever meet someone to love me for me, as I had this face to present to him every morning he wakes up.

Well, thankfully I did (and it did take some work on my part in order to be ready to be comfortable with myself first). The best part, I can look like this some days and Chris will ask me if I’m even wearing makeup. That’s how you know you have a keeper. He also tells me I’m beautiful no matter how I feel or look.  I wish I treated myself with that much kindness and adoration.

So ladies, do you think you can help me in #keepingitreal? Take the challenge, I promise you won’t regret it.

2 thoughts on “#keepingitreal

  1. Hmmmppff. I don’t know where to start. Maybe with the person who called you dog face?
    You are beautiful inside and out. And that “bad” picture of Brittany? Was anyone else thinking what I was? I was thinking it was pretty darn good.
    You don’t need to bare your face unless, of course, you want to. But you should swim underwater.
    That’s why God made waterproof mascara…..

Leave a Reply

